What’s on Tap?

This morning, as I walked into my bathroom, half dead, preparing to go to work, I started my usual routine by washing my face. As I am very inquisitive, I thought to myself  “I wonder what’s in the water?” I already know a great deal about “bacterial floaties” and other chemicals such as chlorine and microbial cysts (microorganisms) but I wanted to know more. So I Googled a couple sites to see what I could find. The Philadelphia Water Department states:

“The Philadelphia Water Department tests the biological quality of the tap water delivered to our customers to make sure it is sanitary and safe. We add chlorine to disinfect our water (free it of harmful organisms).

 As a result of our effective water treatment processes, including the use of chlorine, the quality of public health in Philadelphia is high. Philadelphians do not suffer from the water-spread diseases present in many communities around the world. The Philadelphia Department of Public Health educates people on disease prevention, and makes sure that any diseases are treated early on to prevent their spread.”

Blah, blah, blah…

Truth is, it’s rife with all kinds of contaminates and chemicals to kill germs – carcinogenic polutants and chlorine which are not good for human application.

I’m pretty sure you’ve never heard the term clostridium before, but 9 times out of 10, your skin has had the unfavorable pleasure of being introduced to it on more than one occassion. It’s a bitchy form of bacteria found in our colons, causing diarrhea. This type of bacteria is found in tap water. #yuck

Through miles of pipes under the streets and homes of the city, you can bet that these pipelines aren’t apart of a closed system.  Of course not. Meaning germs can ‘seep in’ and penetrate, especially in older homes. Older homes typically have older piping;  those pipes have rust, corrosion, drainage and all types of unknowns which find their way into the tap water before you draw it out of the tap.

Secondly; hard water.

Too many minerals like calcium and magnesium are found in tap water. Water softening removes these minerals from the water. i.e. water filtration —> get a water filter.

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.